Dr. Terry Wahls: her story and her research

I was first introduced to Terry Wahls MD‘s work through Jenny, my friend and Food As Medicine collaborator. “For a truly inspiring ‘food as medicine’ story,” she told me, “you have got to check out her book, The Wahls Protocol.”

In the book, Dr. Wahls shares her story of her own journey that began in a zero gravity wheelchair with secondary progressive multiple sclerosis. Through the use of her Wahls Protocol, within a year’s time, she was able to walk through her hospital without a cane and even ride a bicycle.

Terry-BA

The Wahls Protocol was not only an inspiring read, but it was also very informative. Dr. Wahls discussion of diet was different than most that I had read about. The focus is mostly on using nutrient-dense food to maximize your health outcome. Even though I am not dealing with MS, her book taught me to look at optimizing my health rather than focus on treating my chronic disease.

Dr-Wahls-The-Wahls-Protocol-book-cover-201x300

Through my journey of making this documentary, I met one of the doctor’s Wahls Warriors, Beth Schultz of the blog, Real Food Inspired Me. Beth’s journey of healing involved years of dealing with MS and Lyme Disease before finding the Wahls Protocol. Now, Beth is singing victories in gaining back her life from the mountaintops as she continues on her journey armed with the practices of Dr. Wahls.

realfoodinspiredme

Next week, we are traveling to Iowa to meet Dr. Wahls and interview her about her story and her research. We will also be attending her Wahls Seminar. Join us on Facebook and Instagram for photos and updates about the journey to Iowa.

Leave a comment